menubar imageKS Banner



Links to Education Sub-Committees:

Philosophy of Education
Staff Development



Resources & Documents:

Lokahi Wheel | Lokahi Wheel Information
Student Learning Expectations (SLE)
Strategic Plan Site
Strategic Plan Document



A project of key importance in fulfilling Kamehameha's mission - the education of Hawaiian children - has begun to take shape under the direction of Chief Education Officer Dr. "Skip" Hare.

Kamehameha School's Instructional Planning Project will reflect the institution's expansion from a single K-12 campus to a program encompassing three campuses, extension education and preschool programs.

"This project is of fundamental importance to Kamehameha Schools, looking at our whole instructional program from pre-K through extension education," Hare said. "This project is going to impact every student and every teacher in our community.

"The goal is to review and update everything we teach. We're looking at redoing our basic educational philosophy, identifying standards that we want to reach in all academic areas and grade levels, revising our curriculum, and looking at our testing program and our staff development program - how we teach our teachers - as well."

KS' Instructional Planning Project is headed by an 18 member steering committee, consisting of representatives from each Kamehameha campus. The project also includes five work groups representing philosophy of education, standards, curriculum, assessment, and staff development. Please use the links in the left margin to get more information about each working group. Links to other resources and documents have also been provided.

Steering Committee Members

Julian Ako CEdO Senior Education Administrator
Eva Bogue KSHC Vice-Principal
Diane Bulay KSMC Teen Health/Speech Specialist
Kaipo Hale EED Interim Director, HSI
Dr. Skip Hare CEdO Chief Education Officer
Kordell Kekoa PS Chaplain, Religious Services
Terry Kelly EED SDFSP
Mervlyn Kitashima PS Parent Coordinator, Parent & Alumni Relations
Kathy Kukea KHS Coordinator Curriculum/Instruction
Jeff Melrose HIR Land Planner/Manager
Eli Nahulu NIRRC Director, NIRRC
Suzanne Ramos ECE Dean, Early Childhood Education
Dr. Philip Reyes, M.D. PS Clinical Director, Medical Services
Colleen Tano KES Grade 5 Teacher
Kathy Tibbetts PASE Research Scientist
Dean Tomita ITD Instructional Technology Manager
Dr. Sandy Young KMS Principal



Page Managed by:Dean Tomita
Last Modified: 9/13/2002

© 2001 Kamehameha Schools. All rights reserved.
Statements of Privacy, Copyright, and Disclaimer.